圣诞树的历史

圣诞树的历史

 
当前位置: 历史 >> 圣诞树的历史

圣诞树的历史――它的起源是哪里?
圣诞树的历史说起来会让很多人感到惊讶。在美国、欧洲和世界上许多国家,它是家中最显著的圣诞节的标志。

没有证据表明现代的圣诞树起源于异教。古罗马人用绿植和火焰装饰他们的房子并交换礼物。中世纪晚期,德国人和斯堪的纳维亚人在家中和户外放置常青的树木,来表明他们对即将到来的春天的期望。

圣诞树的历史――圣诞树是怎样来到美国的?
圣诞树在美国的历史要追溯到1776年乔治华盛顿战胜德国黑森人时。当时,黑森人欢欣鼓舞,他们认为自己在与华盛顿的军队的战斗中胜券在握。战斗发生在圣诞节期间,这是德国人品尝美食,娱乐,装饰圣诞树,忙于庆祝的时期。他们无心恋战。所以,战胜德国黑森人对华盛顿先生来说变得易如反掌。他的部队偷偷接近敌人,并对准备不足的黑森人进行猛攻。

1776年战争结束后,许多德国人留在了美国,他们带来了圣诞树和他们的圣诞传统。圣诞树的尺寸被定在8英尺,并且用娃娃、糖果之类的物品来进行装饰。

很多年后,美国人认识到了圣诞树的市场需求。第一个美国圣诞树供应商是来自纽约卡茨基尔山的马克卡尔,他砍伐了在当地大量自然生长的冷杉和云杉树,并把它们运到纽约城他花1美元租来的地方。在这里,小的圣诞树卖5至10美分,8到10英尺的则卖到25美分。这个生意马克一直经营到了1898年。

圣诞树的历史――圣诞树最早的象征意义是什么?
早年间,许多美国人认为圣诞树是怪异的事物,它不应该出现在圣诞节,因为它是明显的异教徒的象征。新英格兰“清教徒”公认圣诞节是神圣不可冒犯的,他们的州长威廉布拉德福致力于废止具有“异教徒传统”的装饰性的圣诞树。并且他试图惩戒那些于此有关的展示。

到了20世纪早期,美国人以展示他们的圣诞树为豪!他们用自制的饰品和色彩艳丽的装饰悬挂在圣诞树的枝头。现在圣诞树已经成为公认的美国传统。

圣诞节起源—了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


热门话题

人类遗传工程
圣诞树的历史
种族偏见
黑死病的历史
黑暗时代
古巴比伦
古代以色列的历史
情人节历史
埃及女王克里奥帕特拉
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 圣诞树的历史 to My Google!
Add 圣诞树的历史 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 圣诞树的历史
历史 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutHistory.org, 保留所有权利。

History of the Christmas Tree

allabouthistory

History of the Christmas Tree - From where did it originate?
The history of the Christmas tree comes as a shock to many. This famous symbolism of Christmas is displayed in homes in the United States, Europe, and in many countries around the world.

There is no evidence that the modern custom of a Christmas tree originated in paganism. The Romans did decorate their houses with greens and lights and exchanged gifts. Late in the Middle Ages, the Germans and Scandinavians placed evergreen trees in their homes or outside their doors to show their hope in the forthcoming spring. The modern-day Christmas tree evolved from these early German traditions.

History of the Christmas Tree - How did the tree come to the U.S.A.?
The history of the Christmas tree in the United States dates back to the time of George Washington and his defeat of the German Hessians in the year 1776. The Hessians were exuberant because they felt they held a winning hand in the war against George Washington and his troops. The war was during the Christmas season, which for the Germans was a time for food, songs, and decorated trees. In their busy efforts to celebrate the season, they paid little attention to their military duties. Therefore, the German Hessians became easy prey for Mr. Washington. His troops were able to sneak in and defeat the foe who was ill-prepared for the onslaught.

After the war in 1776, many Germans stayed in the United States, introduced the Christmas tree, and shared their traditions. The size of the tree was limited to 8 feet, and decorations consisted of dolls, as well as sugar items.

As the years went by, the United States realized the need for a Christmas tree market. The first supplier, by the name of Mark Carr from the Catskill Mountains in New York, took it upon himself to cut down fir and spruce trees that grew in abundance. He then transported them to New York City where he rented space for $1.00, and sold small trees for .05 to .10 cents and 8 to 10 feet trees for .25 cents. He continued the business until the year 1898.

History of the Christmas Tree – What is the early symbolism of the tree?
In those early years, many Americans considered the tree an oddity that should not be displayed at Christmas because it had been pronounced as a pagan symbol. The New England “Puritans” acknowledged Christmas to be sacred, so their governor William Bradford worked to put an end to the “heathen tradition” of decorated trees. He tried to penalize any such display.

By the early 20th century Americans proudly displaying their Christmas trees! They decorated with homemade ornaments and brightly-colored popcorn which added beauty and color to the branches. The tree has now become a popular American tradition.

Christmas Origin - Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?