理性时代

理性时代

 - 开放社会
当前位置: 历史 >> 理性时代

理性时代 — 什么是理性时代?
理性时代是十八世纪继神秘主义,宗教和中世纪迷信之后的一次运动。 它象征着人类开始审视自己,追求知识和探寻宇宙的起源。不论在口头还是书面上,人类先前所持有的观念和思想在这一时期受到了挑战;被视为异端或被绑在火刑柱上烧死的恐惧已经荡然无存。 这是一个开放社会的开端,人们因此可以自由地追寻个人的幸福和解放。中世纪的王权思想无论在政治领域还是社会领域都遭到了摈弃。理性时期包括短期的启蒙时代,这期间在科学思想和探索领域发生了巨大的变化。新思潮铺天盖地而来,人们渴望自由地探索这些新思想。

德国哲学家康德给出了这样的定义:“启蒙使人类从自我创造的小我中解放出来。小我在无外来指导时是无法正确使用自己的理解力。不是理解力的缺失,而是在没有外界帮助时缺乏使用这种理解力的决心”。

理性时代并非人类历史的顶点时期。人们开始接受一种建立在理智和清晰思维之上的夸大了的完美人性的信仰。他们欣喜地放弃了对圣经真理的依赖,同时遗失了对上帝的敬畏。 摆脱了极端的中世纪神秘主义和迷信后,他们转向了极端的理性,忽视了二者之间的细微差别。

理性时代 – 理性、唯理与教化
理性时代给人类在地球上的发展进程带来了巨大的变化。理性、唯理与教化成为新的‘神’。在之前的一千七百多年,人类的最终完美只是在死后通过上帝的恩惠获得。新教和天主教的对抗以及随之而来的‘圣战’并没有改变人们对社会的根本信念:上帝的启示是真理的来源,并且只能来自于上帝的话语。这是基督教的本原。现在这个新时代,人们觉得必须遵从自己的智慧,而非‘被揭示的’真理。地球以及强调自然成了新的信条。奇迹,预言和宗教仪式都只是迷信。在哲学上,理性被定义为无感情地提炼、浓缩信息,并形成和运作某种理念的能力。唯理性具有有序推理和附有明白解释的理解的双重含义。教化或多或少是对先前信仰中理性和唯理的应用,使思维更广泛,更清晰。

理性时代看到了科学进化论的雏形,和各种新思潮学派的进展。二元论的倡导者笛卡尔教导说,上帝(精神)与人类(自然)截然不同。斯宾诺莎提出了泛神论,即上帝和宇宙是统一的,他进一步指出“上帝是由无穷属性组成的一个实质。”自然神论被描述成理性的宗教,它的信徒排斥基督教是上帝启示的宗教,认为它神秘而晦涩难懂。自然神论信仰者认为上帝的启示应该是简单,自然,清晰和富于逻辑的,长久存在的宗教。

理性时代 — 基督教观点
理性时代充斥着对基督教根本信仰的攻击,拒绝接受上帝,否定神迹。这个时代的人们试图撇清自己和中世纪神秘主义的关系,蔑视圣灵而赞美智慧。他们相信上帝存在是未可知的,因而无需神的启示和与神的交流。自然本身已经揭示了一切,揭示了一切关于上帝的信息。人类此时自由地假想自己的存在理论,对地球的认知以及和太阳的关系。

这个时期具有讽刺意味的是,虽然人们追寻并且相信自己是被启迪的,但却因其谴责上帝而使自己的内心冷硬,而错失了最基本的真理。是的,自然界的确揭示了上帝:“诸天诉说神的荣耀,穹苍传扬他的手段。这日到那日发出言语,这夜到那夜传出知识。”(诗篇 19:1-2)上帝的荣光通过他的杰作得到了展示。他是唯一的智慧和知识的授予者。在背离圣经,也就是上帝的话语的过程中,人类构想出了各种理论来解释世界。但正如哥林多前书3:19a中所述,“因这世界的智慧,在神看是愚拙。”

只有拥有一颗坚信的心才能找到上帝。上帝创造了人类,并使其拥有思考,发现和理解的能力。所有的探索必须由上帝开始,承认他是造物主并且拥有至高无上的权威。“敬畏耶和华是智慧的开端;凡遵行他命令的是聪明人。耶和华是永远当赞美的。”(诗篇 111:10)

了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


热门话题

词源
圣诞树的历史
黑死病的历史
人类遗传工程
种族偏见
万圣节的起源
古代以色列的历史
黑暗时代
埃及女王克里奥帕特拉
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 理性时代 to My Google!
Add 理性时代 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 理性时代
历史 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutHistory.org, 保留所有权利。

Age of Reason

allabouthistory

Age of Reason – What was the Age of Reason?
The Age of Reason was an eighteenth-century movement which followed hard after the mysticism, religion, and superstition of the Middle Ages. The Age of Reason represented a genesis in the way man viewed himself, the pursuit of knowledge, and the universe. In this time period, man’s previously held concepts of conduct and thought could now be challenged verbally and in written form; fears of being labeled a heretic or being burned at the stake were done away with. This was the beginning of an open society where individuals were free to pursue individual happiness and liberty. Politically and socially, the imperial concepts of the medieval world were abandoned. The Age of Reason included the shorter time period described as the Age of Enlightenment; during this time great changes occurred in scientific thought and exploration. New ideas filled the horizon and man was eager to explore these ideas, freely.

German philosopher, Immanuel Kant, defined enlightenment this way: “Enlightenment is the liberation of man from his self-caused state of minority. Minority is the incapacity of using one’s understanding without the direction of another. This state of minority is self-caused when its source lies not in a lack of understanding but in a lack of determination to use it without the assistance of another.”

The Age of Reason need not necessarily be viewed as a high point in the history of man. Man began to embrace an exaggerated belief in the perfection of humanity based on reason and clear thinking; they happily abandoned reliance on biblical truth and lost their fear of God. Leaving the medieval extremes of mysticism and superstition they swung to the other extremes of reason and rationality, overlooking the subtle shades of grey in between.

Age of Reason – Reason, Rationality and Enlightenment
The Age of Reason brought about a great change in the tale of man’s sojourn on earth. Reason, rationality and enlightenment became the new ‘gods.’ For the previous seventeen hundred years the perfection of man was only to be obtained through grace after death. The Protestant revolt to the Catholic Church and subsequent ‘holy wars’ had done nothing to change the accepted underlying beliefs of society: revelation was the source of ultimate truth and could only be received as a communication from God. This was the basis of Christianity. Now, in this new age, man felt obligated to follow his own intellect, not ‘revealed’ truth. Earth and emphasis on nature became the new dogma; miracles, prophecy, and religious rites were mere superstitions. Reason, philosophically, is defined as the ability to form and operate upon concepts in abstraction, narrowing information to its bare content, without emotion. Rationality carries the dual implication of ordered inference and comprehension along with understanding and explanation. Enlightenment is more or less the application of reason and rationality to previously held beliefs resulting in broader, clearer thinking.

The Age of Reason saw the introduction of the Scientific Revolution and various progressions of new schools of thought. Dualism advocated by Descartes taught that God (mind) and man (nature) were distinct. Baruch Spinoza introduced the idea of pantheism, namely, God and the universe are one and further that, “God was a substance consisting of infinite attributes.” Believers in Deism, described as the religion of reason rejected Christianity as a body of revelation, mysterious and incomprehensible. God’s revelation, believed Deists, was simple, logical and clear-cut, a natural religion which always existed.

Age of Reason – The Christian View
The Age of Reason was fraught with attacks on basic Christian beliefs, rejection of God and denial of miracles. In an attempt to divorce himself from the mysticism of the Middle Ages, man during the Age of Reason, applauded intellect and disdained spirit. God was believed to be unknowable, if He existed at all, and certainly there was no need for divine communication or revelation. Nature was revelation enough, showing all that needed to be known of God. Man was now free to postulate his own theories of existence and ideas about earth and its relation to the sun.

The irony of the period is that though man sought and believed himself to be enlightened, he missed the basic truths that would have been clear to him had he not hardened his heart in denunciation of God. Yes, indeed, God is revealed in nature: “The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge” (Psalm 19:1-2). The glory of God is clearly revealed in the works of God’s hands. He alone is the giver of wisdom and knowledge. In deviating from the Bible, God’s Word, as absolute truth, man has formulated all kinds of theories to explain his world. But as 1 Corinthians 3:19 says, “For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God's sight...”

God can only be found through a heart of faith. God has created man with the ability to think, discover, and reason. But all searching must first begin with God, recognizing Him as the author of all things and the One with absolute power and authority. “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom; all who follow his precepts have good understanding. To him belongs eternal praise” (Psalm 111:10).

Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?