黑暗时代

黑暗时代

 - 黑暗定义
当前位置: 历史 >> 黑暗时代

黑暗时代-黑暗定义
黑暗时代作为一个专有名词经历了许多演变。要看是谁在定义它。实际上,现代历史学家因为它的负面内涵,已经不再使用这个术语。一般来说,黑暗时代是指西罗马帝国引入的衰落时期。这一事件发生在公元476年,西罗马最后一个皇帝罗穆卢斯罗慕被异族人奥多亚克废黜。

起初,专指这个时期的‘黑暗’一词是后来的旁观者加上的,这是因为当时盛行的倒退方法和习惯所致。后来的历史学家使用“黑暗”这个词,只是单纯的表示对这一时期所知不多,有关的文字历史记载非常缺乏。最近随着这一时期许多新的事实的发现,这种看法有所改变。

意大利学者弗朗西斯•彼得拉尔卡吧彼特拉克称作第一个打造这一说法的人。他用这一说法谴责当时的拉丁文学。其他人扩充了这一概念,表达了对这一时期拉丁文学或其他文化成就匮乏的沮丧情绪。黑暗时代这个词不再广泛使用,它可能用来描述罗马帝国衰落后的中世纪早期更恰当。中世纪被笼统的认为从公元400年延续到公元1000年。

黑暗时代――教会的状态
黑暗时代是一个宗教斗争时期。新教徒和天主教徒从相反的观点来看待它。新教徒认为这一时期是天主教腐败时期,他们批判天主教会、教皇教义以及等级制度。新教徒力图重新建立一个纯粹的基督教,取消这些“黑暗的”天主教。天主教徒则不把这一时期看作是“黑暗的”,天主教徒把它看作是和谐、富有成效的历史时期。黑暗时代也指被强大的穆斯林征服的岁月。和其他的游牧民族、骑兵、骆驼武士一道,穆斯林践踏衰落的帝国,宣扬他们的异端学说,所到之处一片浩劫。穆斯林的统治一直持续到十字军东征。而基督教和伊斯兰教这种存在已久的冲突则一直持续到今天。

黑暗时代――信仰与启示
黑暗时代是一个动荡时期。游荡的马背上的入侵者在边境发动进攻。宗教冲突增加;穆斯林征服大片土地。写实的文学作品和文化成就的稀缺是这一时代的标志;异族野蛮行为占了上风。

尽管存在宗教冲突,黑暗时代仍然被看作是一个宗教信仰时期。男人和女人们追寻上帝;一些人采用天主教会的古板仪式,其他的则采用新教徒的崇拜方式。有识之士认为,宗教的任何形式包括它本身都是一种“黑暗的”类型。在宗教改革和启蒙时代及以后的时间里,科学和理性占了上风并且得到了长足的发展。

在某种程度上,对于现代的旁观者来说,黑暗时代仍然是另人费解的。时代的骚动,宗教冲突和诋毁,有争议的时间起止,所有这一切将这一时期笼罩在渐渐熄灭的光芒中。

具有讽刺意义的是,我们的21世纪同样黑暗。这是一种特殊的黑暗。那些拒绝与上帝同行,拒绝宗教在政治中占重要地位的与日俱增。我们这个时代的特征是理性与科技的提高,但我们的道德观却倒退了。“你该知道,末世必有危险的日子来到。因为那时人要专顾自己、贪爱钱财、自夸、狂傲、谤讟、违背父母、忘恩负义、心不圣洁、无亲情、不解怨、好说谗言、不能自约、性情凶暴、不爱良善、卖主卖友、任意妄为、自高自大、爱宴乐、不爱神,有敬虔的外貌,却背了敬虔的实意,这等人你要躲开”(提摩太后书3:1-5)。这些才是黑暗的典型特征。

了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


热门话题

情人节历史
圣诞树的历史
黑死病的历史
古巴比伦
种族偏见
词源
万圣节的起源
黑暗时代
埃及女王克里奥帕特拉
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 黑暗时代 to My Google!
Add 黑暗时代 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 黑暗时代
历史 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutHistory.org, 保留所有权利。

The Dark Ages

allabouthistory

The Dark Ages – Defining the Darkness
The Dark Ages as a term has undergone many evolutions; its definition depends on who is defining it. Indeed, modern historians no longer use the term because of its negative connotation. Generally, the Dark Ages referred to the period of time ushered in by the fall of the Western Roman Empire. This took place when the last Western emperor, Romulus Augustulus, was deposed by Odoacer, a barbarian. AD 476 was the time of this event.

Initially, this era took on the term “dark” by later onlookers; this was due to the backward ways and practices that seemed to prevail during this time. Future historians used the term “dark” simply to denote the fact that little was known about this period; there was a paucity of written history. Recent discoveries have apparently altered this perception as many new facts about this time have been uncovered.

The Italian Scholar, Francesco Petrarca called Petrarch, was the first to coin the phrase. He used it to denounce Latin literature of that time; others expanded on this idea to express frustration with the lack of Latin literature during this time or other cultural achievements. While the term dark ages is no longer widely used, it may best be described as Early Middle Ages -- the period following the decline of Rome in the Western World. The Middle Ages is loosely considered to extend from 400 to 1000 AD.

The Dark Ages – The State of the Church
The Dark Ages was a period of religious struggle. Orthodox Christians and Catholics viewed the era from opposing perspectives. Orthodox Christians regarded this time as a period of Catholic corruption; they repudiated the ways of the Catholic Church with its papal doctrines and hierarchy. Orthodox Christians strove to recreate a pure Christianity, void of these “dark” Catholic ways. Catholics did not view this era as “dark.” Catholics viewed this period as a harmonious, productive religious era. The Dark Ages were also the years of vast Muslim conquests. Along with other nomads and horse and camel warriors, the Muslims rode through the fallen empire, wreaking havoc and seeding intellectual and social heresy in their wake. Muslim conquests prevailed until the time of the Crusades. This age old conflict between Christianity and Islam remains until this day.

The Dark Ages – Faith vs. Enlightenment
The Dark Ages were a tumultuous time. Roving horse-bound invaders charged the country sides. Religious conflicts arose; Muslims conquered lands. Scarcity of sound literature and cultural achievements marked these years; barbarous practices prevailed.

Despite the religious conflicts, the period of the Dark Ages was seen as an age of faith. Men and women sought after God; some through the staid rituals of the Catholic Church, others in more Orthodox forms of worship. Intellectuals view religion in any form as, itself, a type of “darkness.” These thinkers assert that those who followed religious beliefs lied to themselves, creating a false reality. They were dominated by emotions, not fact. Religion was seen as contrary to rationality and reason, thus the move towards enlightenment -- a move away from “darkness.” Science and reason gained ascendancy, progressing steadily during and after the Reformation and Age of Enlightenment.

To some extent, the period of the Dark Ages remains obscure to modern onlookers. The tumult of the era, its religious conflict and denigration, and debatable time period all work together to shroud the period in diminished light.

The irony of this is that our 21st Century world is no less dark. It is an individual darkness, which multiplies and grows as those who reject God walk together and dominate politics, education, and society. Our age is characterized by every intellectual and technological advance but our morals have turned backwards. “But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God -- having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with them” (2 Timothy 3:1-5). These are the characteristics of true darkness.

Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?