埃及女王克里奥帕特拉

埃及女王克里奥帕特拉

 
当前位置: 历史 >> 埃及女王克里奥帕特拉

埃及女王克里奥帕特拉 — 通俗描写与史实
埃及女王克里奥帕特拉在现代戏剧或淫秽作品中被描绘成一个悲剧性和误解的人物。在这些作品中最受欢迎的是1963年赢得奥斯卡金像奖的影片《克里奥帕特拉》。伊丽莎白•泰勒在剧中扮演女王,理查德•伯顿扮演马克•安东尼。真实的历史与古代史学家约瑟夫把女王描述成一个‘绝不会心慈手软的人。’

克里奥帕特拉(公元前69年1月— 公元前30年11月30日)在希腊统治时期与其弟即丈夫托勒密13世和托勒密14世共同执政埃及。之后她通过与盖乌斯•尤里乌斯•凯撒通奸巩固了对王权的控制,继而成为埃及的最高统治者。在凯撒被暗杀后,克里奥帕特拉又与凯撒的第二号人物马克•安东尼通奸。克里奥帕特拉共有四个子女,与凯撒育有凯撒里昂,另三个孩子是马克•安东尼的(他们是克里奥帕特拉•塞勒密二世、亚历山大•赫里尔斯、托勒密•菲勒德尔菲斯)。而她与其兄弟的婚姻并没有孩子。这是合理的,他们并不亲密而且从未圆房,相反他们是埃及统治你死我活的争夺者。

埃及女王克里奥帕特拉—历史上的地位
女王克里奥帕特拉在埃及的统治标志着希腊在埃及统治的末期,和东地中海罗马时代的开始。 她与尤里乌斯•凯撒的儿子凯撒里昂只是名义上的统治者。为了攻占埃及,屋大维(尤里乌斯•凯撒的侄孙,又名凯撒•奥古斯都,他是基督诞生时罗马的统治者)以‘凯撒太多了’的名义处死了凯撒里昂。她与马克•安东尼的孩子被送到罗马并被安东尼的妻子即屋大维的姐姐屋大维娅收养。

这个故事最好的结尾之一是屋大维娅成了罗马历史上最著名的女性,因为她的忠诚、仁慈和高贵的品质,以及恪守罗马传统女性的美德而受到人们的尊重和敬仰。她对她的丈夫和克里奥帕特拉所生的孩子的关爱使得她品德高尚的形象更加光辉。屋大维娅生活在一个许多人屈从于背叛和阴谋的时代。克里奥帕特拉女王和她通过通奸而获取权利就是一个著名的例子。

马克•安东尼和克里奥帕特拉的失败就像他们的生活一样可耻。在阿克顿战役中,安东尼率领海陆军但是却败给了装备更好、训练更有素的屋大维的军队。克里奥帕特拉女王战败逃跑,通俗的故事表明安东尼抛弃了自己的军队,随女王逃到了埃及。有证据表明安东尼的军队厌恶不道德和军纪差而转投屋大维 。当屋大维的军团进入埃及时,知道自己难逃罗马法律制裁的安东尼自杀身亡。据奥林匹斯医生(一位目击证人)说,安东尼被带到了克里奥帕特拉女王的坟墓并死在了她的怀里。几天以后,克里奥帕特拉以毒蛇噬胸的方式自尽。在附近一所房子等待的屋大维听到消息后亲自去查看她确实死了。

埃及克里奥帕特拉女王—她的死
埃及女王克里奥帕特拉在古代史学家即她同时代的人口中是一个导致她的家庭,同胞和强大的罗马失败的凶手。她最终自尽是一个邪恶的女人在失去了所有的财富,权利和情人之后,最后试图掌控自己的命运,

埃及克里奥帕特拉女王—基督诞生前的那个世纪
埃及克里奥帕特拉女王为控制埃及而争斗的同时,罗马打了一场血腥的内战。她出生六年前,庞贝大帝通过攻占耶路撒冷介入了公元前63年的一场犹太人的冲突,然后又进入了耶路撒冷神殿的至圣之所。犹太人不原谅他。几年后在公元前47年的罗马内战中,庞贝在希腊的法萨拉一役中战败逃离凯撒。他甚至没有试图求助于犹太人。虽然庞贝被埃及人所杀,犹太人加入两大集团—一个服从于大祭司海尔卡努斯,另外一个服从于图买安提帕特族长。他们协助凯撒打败了埃及人,帮克里奥帕特拉重掌权利,为凯撒在埃及的胜利立下了汗马功劳。

凯撒对于这种帮助的回报是在公元前47年提拔安提帕特(希律王的父亲)为耶路撒冷的摄政王。罗马人也确立了犹太法利赛族的领袖海尔卡努斯作为所有犹太人的终身大祭司的地位,并授予所有与罗马军团并肩作战的犹太人终身罗马公民的身份。结果法利塞人拥有了巴勒斯坦世俗与宗教的实权,并垄断了寺庙的领导权直到罗马将军提图斯在公元74年摧毁了耶路撒冷。

法利塞人权利的上升引发了他们和撒都该排的政治争斗。这场斗争是基督生命和事奉期间巴勒斯坦地区一道主要的政治风景。

最后值得一提的是:使徒保罗的父亲或祖父可能作为军人从埃及战争中得到了可以传给子孙的罗马公民身份。在使徒行传21章中提到保罗利用他的公民特权向凯撒申诉他的案件。有人发现保罗通过这个过程并且利用罗马公民的特权,把基督的福音信息带到了罗马中心以及凯撒的王宫。

了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


热门话题

种族偏见
黑死病的历史
词源
黑暗时代
古巴比伦
情人节历史
万圣节的起源
埃及女王克里奥帕特拉
圣诞树的历史
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 埃及女王克里奥帕特拉 to My Google!
Add 埃及女王克里奥帕特拉 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 埃及女王克里奥帕特拉
历史 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutHistory.org, 保留所有权利。

Queen Cleopatra of Egypt

allabouthistory

Queen Cleopatra of Egypt – Popular Depiction vs. Reality
Queen Cleopatra of Egypt is often portrayed in modern times -- in works ranging from plays to pornography -- as a tragic and misunderstood person. Among the most popular of these portrayals is the Oscar winning 1963 film, “Cleopatra,” in which Elizabeth Taylor played the Queen and Richard Burton portrayed Marc Antony. History paints a much different picture with ancient historian Josephus describing Cleopatra as “a woman who hesitated at no wickedness.”

Cleopatra (January 69 BC–November 30, 30 BC) was a Hellenistic co-ruler of Egypt with her brothers/husbands Ptolemy XIII and Ptolemy XIV. She later became the supreme ruler of Egypt by consummating an adulterous liaison with Gaius Julius Caesar that solidified her grip on the throne. After Caesar's assassination, Cleopatra aligned with Caesar’s number two man, Mark Antony, in another adulterous relationship. In all, Cleopatra had four children, one by Caesar (Caesarion) and three by Antony (Cleopatra Selene II, Alexander Helios, Ptolemy Philadelphus). Her marriages with her brothers produced no children: it is possible that they were never consummated because they were never close but instead were murderous rivals for the throne of Egypt.

Queen Cleopatra of Egypt – Place in History
Queen Cleopatra of Egypt’s reign marks the final end of the Hellenistic Era in Egypt and the beginning of the Roman Era in the eastern Mediterranean. Her son by Julius Caesar, Caesarion, ruled briefly in name only. Upon seizing Egypt, Octavian (Julius Caesar’s grand-nephew who is also named Caesar Augustus, and who ruled Rome at the time of Christ’s birth) condemned Caesarion to death with the statement, “Too many Caesars.” Her other children by Marc Antony were taken to Rome and adopted by Antony’s wife, Octavia, who was also Octavian’s elder sister.

One of the excellent endnotes of this story is that Octavia became one of the most prominent women in Roman history, respected and admired by contemporaries for her loyalty, nobility and humanity, and for maintaining traditional Roman feminine virtues. Her care and love for the offspring of her husband’s adulterous relationship with Cleopatra simply added to her Roman status as a virtuous woman. Octavia lived at a time when many succumbed to treachery and intrigue -- a remarkable counter-point to the life of Queen Cleopatra and the adulterous liaisons she used to acquire power and lure Marc Antony away from Octavia.

Marc Antony and Cleopatra’s demise was as sordid and tragic as their lives. Antony led combined land and naval forces at the Battle of Actium but lost to the better equipped and trained forces under Octavian. Queen Cleopatra fled the battle and popular legend implies that Antony abandoned his command to follow her to Egypt. Evidence indicates that Antony’s forces simply deserted to join with Octavian in a mass expression of disgust at the immorality and poor discipline of their commander. With the landing of Octavian’s legions in Egypt, Antony committed suicide, knowing his coming fate at the hands of Roman Justice. According to the doctor Olympus (an eye-witness), he was brought to Queen Cleopatra's tomb and died in her arms. Several days later, Cleopatra died from a self-inflicted snakebite. Octavian, waiting in a building nearby, was informed of her death, and went to see for himself that she was dead.

Queen Cleopatra of Egypt – Her Death
Queen Cleopatra of Egypt, in the words of ancient historians and her contemporaries, was a murdering, adulterous seductress who conspired in the demise of her own family, countrymen, and powerful Romans. Her death at her own hand was the last desperate attempt of an immoral woman to at least control her own end, having lost all accumulated wealth, power, and lovers.

Queen Cleopatra of Egypt – The century before the birth of Christ
Queen Cleopatra of Egypt struggled for power in Egypt at the same time that Rome fought a bloody Civil War. Six years before her birth, Pompey the Great intervened in a Jewish conflict in 63 BC by seizing Jerusalem then entered the Holy of Holies in the Jerusalem Temple. The Jewish people never forgave him. Years later during the Roman Civil War in 47 BC, Pompey fled from Caesar after losing the battle of Farsala in Greece. He would not even attempt to ask for help from the Jews. Though Pompey was murdered by the Egyptians, the Jewish people joined two large units -- one under the High Priest, Hyrcanus, and the other under the Idumean, Antipater. They helped Caesar defeat the Egyptians, place Queen Cleopatra back in power, and contributed significantly to Caesar’s success in Egypt.

Caesar’s reward for this service would be to elevate Antipater (Herod’s father) to be Regent over Jerusalem in 47 BC. The Roman also confirmed Hyrcanus, the leader of the Jewish sect known as Pharisees, as High Priest for life and granted permanent Roman citizenship to all the Jewish men who fought with the Legions in Egypt. As a result, the Pharisees became the dominant secular and religious power brokers in Palestine and dominated Temple leadership until Roman General Titus Vespasian destroyed Jerusalem in 70 AD.

The rise of the Pharisees to power locked in place the simmering political bitterness between Sadducees and Pharisees. This bitterness was a prominent part of the national political landscape of Palestine during Christ’s life and ministry.

A final fascinating note is that it is possible the Apostle Paul’s father or grandfather received Roman citizenship for serving as a soldier in the Egyptian campaign, which would pass down to children. Paul used his privilege of citizenship in Acts 21 to appeal his legal case to Caesar. One discovers that through this process and using the privilege of Roman citizenship, Paul took the Gospel message of Christ into the heart of Rome and the throne of Caesar.

Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?