Clicky

历史

历史

 
当前位置: 历史 >> 历史

历史 – 历史是什么?
历史有一个普遍的定义- 过去所发生的不可改变的事件的集合。不过对于历史学家来说,历史有更狭义的解释,它是一个术语,被定义为对保存的历史的研究。历史研究集中在历史著作上,而历史学家利用的是考古和自然证据。

普通意义上的历史能够告示我们发生过什么,但却解释不了原因和它如何对今天的我们产生重要的意义。 历史学家把历史变成了一种文献的形式。这意味着历史有主客观的因素在其中。他们使得历史研究和记录是一种尝试为我们的过去,现在和将来做出解释。一个好的历史学家应该获取正确的论据,并且从这些事实中给我们提供指导性原则和普遍的概念。通过这些概念,历史学家详尽地使我们领悟到人,地域和时间。好的历史学家以这种方式把我们和过去建立起一种个人关联,从而学到东西并得以成长。

历史 – 它重要吗?
历史是重要的。这一点在过去几个世纪不证自明。从古代的皇家亚历山大图书馆到现代的美国国会图书馆,全社会都在不遗余力地保护人类记载下来的历史。众所周知,历史在如何取得成功和如何避免付出昂贵的代价方面为我们提供了宝贵的借鉴。历史让我们洞悉我们是谁,能成为什么样的人,以及认同自己。

然而在18和19世纪,一切发生了变化,历史显得不那么重要了。首先,美国粗糙个人主义强调自我独立和自力更生,这种个人主义当时在寻求从英国的统治下独立,并且从东向西席卷了整个大陆。它反对任何约束自我的东西,包括历史。其次,在启蒙时代,一千多年来在欧洲解读历史的圣经受到怀疑论者的抵制。 到20世纪的时候,美国重新定义自己为新一代。最后,科学发现和技术的进步开始高速发展。我们发现自己生活在一个不断变革的时代。

我们用"到哪去"而不是"从哪来"来定义我们自己。许多人认为历史对我们的重要性微乎其微,因为我们与祖先生活的时代是如此的不同,古人的经验无法指点我们的现实。他们说人类的智慧得到进化,任何过去都已经过时,并且和我们不再有关。因而过去在很多人心目中已经无足轻重。对过去的忽略并不是缺少信息所致,而是我们自己做出这样的选择的结果。

历史真的重要。乔治 奥韦尔写到:“谁掌握了过去就掌控了未来。”我们对于过去的态度影响了我们对现实做出的反应。如果我们的历史观是错的,我们今天做出的很可能是错误的选择。这些错误的选择将导致进一步的冲突和资源的浪费,而这最终将导致整个文明的失落。

历史 – 找寻什么
书写历史通常遵循几个普通的方法。以下是历史学家在试图解释已发生事件的意义时常常使用的方法。

  • 伟人论 – 这一理论通常被与19世纪苏格兰历史学家托马斯•卡莱尔联系在一起。他宣称:“世界史其实就是伟人的生平史。”卡莱尔认为伟人用他们的远见塑造了历史。
  • 其他因素 – 现在很多史学家研究其他的因素,诸如经济,社会,环境以及技术等对于历史的变迁,他们认为这些与任何个人的远见一样重要。
  • 人民历史论 – 这一方法关注大规模的人类运动或是那些通常被排斥在标准外的人们 – 穷人,受压迫者,被遗忘的人,等等。许多修正主义历史学家利用这一历史观来挑战我们既有的观点。
当你阅读历史的时候,要寻找客观的史实和作者从这些客观中得出的主观结论。看看他们在作品中使用了何种方法。看看作者呈现了何种普遍意义的真理。历史学家并不总是写我们想听的,所以不要基于个人的喜好来评论其内容。最后一点,作者是否使你有身临其境之感?如果是,那么他或她的研究就会成为你的一部分。

了解更多的历史!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


热门话题

情人节历史
万圣节的起源
人类遗传工程
圣诞树的历史
埃及女王克里奥帕特拉
词源
种族偏见
黑暗时代
古巴比伦
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 历史 to My Google!
Add 历史 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 历史
历史 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutHistory.org, 保留所有权利。

History

allabouthistory

History - What Is It?
History has a common definition -- what happened before, a collection of unalterable facts. But to the historian, history has a more narrow definition. To the historian, history is a term of art, defined as a study of written history. While historians make use of archeological or physical evidence, the study of history focuses on historical writings.

History under the common definition can tell us what happened, but not why or how that is important to us today. History in the hands of the historian becomes a form of literature. That means history has an objective and a subjective element. In the hands of the historian, the study and recording of history is an attempt to give meaning to our past, present, and future. A good historian is one who gets the facts right and gives us guiding principles and universal concepts from the facts. The historian, in the details and through the universal concepts, gives us a sense of the people, places, and time. In this way, a good historian draws us into a personal relationship with the past, allowing us to grow and learn from it.

History - Is It Important?
History is important. In centuries past, this statement would have seemed self-evident. From the ancient Royal Library of Alexandria to the more modern Library of Congress, societies have devoted much time and effort to the preservation of man’s written history. It was understood that the past held valuable lessons of how to succeed and how to avoid costly mistakes. History gave us insight into who we are, who we can be, and a sense of our identity.

But in the 18th and 19th century, change was in the wind and history seemed not to be important. First, American rugged individualism, which sought independence from England and pushed westward across the continent, stressed human independence and self-reliance. It rebelled against any constraint of the individual including history. Secondly, the Bible which had been a source of interpreting history for over 1,000 years in Europe was being rejected by skeptics during the age of enlightenment. By the time the 20 century rolls around, America is redefining itself with every new generation. Finally, technological changes and new scientific discoveries begin to occur at an alarming rate. We find ourselves living in a time of constant change.

We define ourselves in terms of where we are going, not where we come from. Many in society say that history holds little importance for us because we believe we live in a time so different from our ancestors. Their experiences could not shed light on our circumstances. They say that man’s intelligence has evolved and that anything from the past is outdated and irrelevant to us. Therefore the past is worthless in the minds of many people. Our ignorance of the past is not the result of a lack of information, but of our choice.

History does matter. George Orwell wrote, “He who controls the past, controls the future.” Our view of the past affects how we respond to our present circumstances. If our view of history is wrong, we are likely to make wrong choices today. These wrong choices will lead to further conflicts and a waste of resources that can eventually lead to the fall of an entire civilization.

History - What To Look For
History is generally written by following a few common approaches. Here are some common approaches used by historians as they try to understand the meaning of what has happened before.

  • The Great Man Theory - This theory is often associated with the nineteenth-century Scottish historian Thomas Carlyle. He declared, “The history of the world is but the biography of great men.” Carlyle argued that great men shape history through their vision.
  • Other Factors - Today many historians look at other factors such as economic, societal, environmental, and technological which they claim is just as significant to historical change as any one person’s vision.
  • The People’s History Approach – This approach focuses on the story of mass movements or on those who were generally outside the accepted norm -- the poor, the oppressed, and the otherwise forgotten people. The people’s history theory is used by many revisionist historians who serve to challenge our preconceived ideas.
When you read history, look for the objective facts and the subjective conclusion the writer draws from these facts. Look for which approach the writer is employing in their history. Look for what universal truths the writer is presenting. Historians do not always write what we want to hear so resist judging the content based upon personal ideology. Finally, does the writer draw you into the time and place of his/her study? If the historian has done the job, what he/she has written will become a part of who you are.

Learn More About History!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?